Autism Speaks *still* does not speak for me — The Caffeinated Autistic

Most of the folks who read my blog do so because they googled the phrase “Why is Autism Speaks bad” or some variant. They know me to be an outspoken person and not afraid to explain why Autism Speaks will never be among the organizations I support. This is, of course, not in any way […]

via Autism Speaks *still* does not speak for me — The Caffeinated Autistic

is it really autism awareness?

So ‘autism awareness day’ was a couple of days ago and I’m currently seeing that it’s also ‘autism awareness month’ and I find it very interesting that all the sharing of ‘memes’ about this on Facebook are being shared by non autistic/neurotypical people. The people who need the awareness the most and don’t usually understand what they are sharing or think they know it all but they don’t. I admire those who try but admit they don’t get it, they never truly will unless they have it themselves, they are humble in their knowledge not cocky and stuck up thinking they know all about autism. I do find it interesting watching the arguments unravel online mainly over Facebook.

I did spend a little time for ‘autism awareness’ looking into the big issues people have with Autism Speaks and I’m very shocked with just what Autism Speaks have done and said and see how this upsets people with autism. I won’t look at the jigsaw piece the same way again too. Originally used by somewhere else it was picked up by Autism Speaks, they see autism as a thing that has broken children, that children are broken and have a missing piece. This is so unkind and insensitive. A child is just different not broken. I read some of their past tag lines or promotional quotes where they state they will try to find a ‘cure’ to autism – autism can’t be cured, how ignorant can they be? Started by grandparents of a child with autism, they vowed to find cures and treatments for autism and support families of children – do the children not need support, do the children who become adults not get support when they become adults?

I read a great blog (the caffeinated autistic on WordPress) that really enlightened me and it had a link to a blog of a mum. It highlights so many more issues.

To be honest I’ve learned a couple of things from looking into ‘autism awareness’ –

  • don’t light up blue for autism speaks,
  • don’t just make people aware of autism during april, teach them all year round.
  • maybe teach them autism acceptance not awareness.
  • talk to people with autism, we’ll tell you what you need. Or an article or book by an autistic person. Not someone who has completed x amount of hours of training.

On a personal note, my gosh my mental health is suffering so badly. I’m not sleeping (which is common for people with autism), I’m spending my nights crying and being sick due to anxiety, the night-time is making me so anxious. I think because I’m alone, the thoughts start entering my head and I can’t control them. I’m pretty sure my meds are not working so I’m coping (or not coping) on my own – I can’t change them for another 3 weeks. However I have finally started therapy, albeit, its private so I’m paying for it at least I finally have a professional to talk to.